Kino Svetozor

Kino Svetozor, located kitty corner from always busy Wenceclas Square,  is a movie theater that plays independent films. It’s an English-friendly theater where you can watch American and British films and Czech films with English sub-titles. It’s also pretty unfussy; you can bring wine, beer, and coffee from the cafe into into the theater.

Yesterday, I caught the movie Moonlight, which just got eight Oscar nominations. Probably not a movie for everyone, but I thought it was exquisite. The theater was packed and, at the end of the film, there was rousing applause. The actors were amazing, especially Trevente Rhodes and Marhershala Ali. Here’s a fun interview with Marheshala Ali and his wife about success and faith, if you’re interested. By the way, I’m obsessed with the Death, Sex, and Money podcast; it’s so good. If you have time, check out the episode “I Had Babies to Pay for My Baby.” So interesting.

I’ll be returning to Kino Svetozor soon to see: La La Land, Manchester By the Sea, and Jackie.

 

2 thoughts on “Kino Svetozor”

  1. I am so happy you have a place to see all the nice movies and of course La La Land is a must see I hear. Good for you my dear, Enjoy.

    Like

Leave a Reply

